Every year the Cayman Islands government honour local people for their contributions to Cayman community on National Heroes Day. This year’s National Heroes Day, Monday 22nd Jan, honoured 316 people for their contributions to sports in the islands.

Some of Cayman’s most successful athletes, its first Olympians, football heroes, and track and field stars were honored as part of the annual National Heroes Day celebrations. Long-time administrators and coaches who have worked with generations of youngsters were also among those who received honors at the event in Heroes Square.

The sports heroes were honoured across five categories; Early Pioneers, Pioneers, Emerging Pioneers, Memorial Scroll and the Long Service award. Amongst those hounoured were a number of netball players, administrators and coaches, who have helped to make netball in Cayman what it is today. We at CINA are proud of them all, and appreciate every they have done and continue to do for netball in the Cayman Islands.

Early Pioneer

Ms. Lucille Dell Seymour BEM, JP


Mrs. Louise Christine Burke-Richardson

Ms. Merta Araceli Day, GMM

Mrs. Norma Ferryman

Rev. Dr. Linda Darnell McField, Cert.Hon,

Mrs. Lyneth Monteith

Ms. Mollyann Moore

Mrs. Janet Sairsingh

Emerging Pioneer

Mrs. Tricia Melissa Skyers-Palacio

Long Service Award

Ms. Pauline Mary Bodden-Dilbert

Ms. Ventisha Conolly

Mrs. Priscilla Antonette Habib-Scott

Ms. Georgia Isaacs

Ms. Jocelyn Marshall

Mr. Orvin Michael Palacio

Mrs. Janet Pereira


Check out photos from the day of celebration in the gallery.


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


©2024 Cayman Islands Netball Association. All rights reserved. Designed by MNOchrome.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?